Coding hours to be extended, coverage area to be expanded

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — After the positive feedback on the first day of the number coding "no window hours" policy, traffic managers and local government units have agreed to extend its coverage by one more hour and to add more roads to the scheme. 

Related: Drivers: Easier traffic on first 'no window hours' day

The Inter-agency Council on Traffic (i-Act) and the Metro Manila Council (MMC) agreed on Monday to extend coding hours under the current Unified Vehicular Volume Reduction Program (UVVRP) or the Number Coding Scheme from the original 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. to the new schedule of 7 a.m to 8 p.m.

Aside from the longer period, the scheme will now also include all radial roads (R1 to R10) and circumferential roads (C1 to C6) in Metro Manila — beginning November 1.

The extended coding hours and expanded coverage of the "no window hours" policy are aimed to decongest traffic and reduce volume of vehicles on national roads in the metro.

The expanded list of thoroughfares and roads for the "no window hours" policy is as follows:

  • C1: CM Recto Avenue
  • C2: Pres. Quirino Avenue
  • C3: Araneta Avenue
  • C4: EDSA
  • C5: C.P. Garcia Avenue
  • C6: Bulacan-Rizal-Manila-Cavite Regional Expressway
  • R1: Roxas Blvd.
  • R2: Taft Avenue
  • R3: SLEX
  • R4: Shaw Blvd.
  • R5: Ortigas Avenue
  • R6: Magsaysay Blvd./Aurora Blvd.
  • R7: Quezon Avenue/Commonweath Avenue
  • R8: A. Bonifacio Avenue
  • R9: Rizal Avenue
  • R10: Del Pan/Marcos Highway/MacArthur Highway

Earlier in the day, the "no window hours" policy was implemented on EDSA, C5, Mandaluyong, Roxas Blvd., Alabang-Zapote Road, Las Piñas, and Makati.