Look: Road closures, alternate routes during APEC leaders' meeting

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

MMDA moves its plastic barriers in EDSA-Malibay on Friday (November 13) to demarcate the APEC 2015 lane.

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines) — The Philippines will host this year's Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) meetings. Leaders and delegates from the different parts of the world will converge for the APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting (AELM) in Manila from November 18 to 19.

The Office of the President had earlier announced that there would be no classes from November 17 to 20 throughout the National Capital Region (NCR). November 18 and 19 were also declared as nonworking holidays in the NCR.

Related: No classes in NCR for 4 days due to APEC leaders' meeting

To minimize inconvenience to the public, rerouting schemes and several traffic changes will be implemented in Metro Manila from November 16 to 20.

Special APEC lanes will be set up along EDSA. Only APEC vehicles will be allowed to use the two innermost lanes of both the northbound and southbound sides. The rest of the lanes will remain open to non-APEC vehicles.

However, both northbound and southbound lanes of Roxas Boulevard will not be accessible to non-APEC vehicles.







A "stop and go" scheme will be implemented from November 15 to 20 along the Magallanes and Skyway/SLEX interchanges, and parts of EDSA, Makati, and roads around NAIA. This means all traffic will be stopped whenever the APEC leaders pass by the said areas and will resume only after they have gone through.

Traffic will also be halted when APEC vehicles pass by Skyway elevated and at-grade roads from November 16 to 20.

Motorists should take note that the number scheme will be implemented in Metro Manila during this period.

For truck drivers and operators, there will also be a daytime truck ban along the South Truck Route. Trucks will only be allowed to use the route from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. But Roxas Boulevard will remain under a 24-hour truck ban.

Meanwhile, the SM Mall of Asia will observe regular mall hours from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. from November 16 to 20.

Secretary Edwin Lacierda, presidential spokesperson, said in a statement that the government was "hoping for the public’s understanding" with all the rerouting schemes and road changes set in place.

"These changes are necessary to ensure the security of our APEC visitors, and to decongest their routes as they travel between venues," said Lacierda. "Again, we wish to emphasize that the Philippines stands to reap many benefits from this hosting, which has already boosted our reputation as a prime tourism and business destination."

APEC has 21 members, which include developed and developing countries, namely Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Canada, United States, Chinese Taipei, People’s Republic of China, Hong Kong, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Chile, Peru, Russia, and Vietnam.