Ambassador to UN: Trudeau should have avoided EJK talk

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, November 17) President Rodrigo Duterte had the right to respond strongly against Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau for raising alleged extrajudicial killings, the country's ambassador to the United States said.

Ambassador Teodoro "Teddy Boy" Locsin, Jr. told CNN Philippines' The Source the Prime Minister should have withheld comment on the drug war.

"He shouldn't have. [Because] he was a special guest. He didn't have to be invited. In fact, I don't know why he was. But there it is," said Locsin.

Without name-dropping Trudeau, Duterte said on Tuesday he was "insulted" by foreigners who questioned the war on drugs. In contrast, Trudeau claimed earlier that day that Duterte was "receptive," and their conversation was "cordial and positive."

Related: Duterte 'insulted' with how world leaders raised human rights

Locsin said Trudeau was invited, perhaps because he is down to earth.

"Let's face it. He is the most accomplished politician in the best sense of the word. He means everything he says and what he does," he said.


Locsin also said Canada and other countries should not be at Association of Southeast Asian Nation Summit.

"Special guests like Justin Trudeau, you know they have no place in ASEAN. Absolutely, Canada has no place. Australia has no place. New Zealand has no place. Even the United States has no place," Locsin said.

Canada has been a long-time a dialogue partner of the regional bloc. The 40th Anniversary Commemorative Summit between ASEAN and Canada was held on Tuesday.

ASEAN is also a dialogue partner with Australia, China, the European Union, India, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Russia, and the United States. The United Nations is also a special guest at the summit.

Apart from the 31st ASEAN Summit, which gathered the ten members of the regional organization, related summits were held with each of the dialogue partners.

Other summits include ASEAN Plus Three, with China, Japan, and South Korea; East Asia Summit, which includes the ASEAN, Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Russia, South Korea, and the US; and the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership Summit, which discussed a proposed free trade agreement among ASEAN, Australia, China, India, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand.