Opposition bares line-up for 2019 senatorial race

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, October 16) -- The opposition coalition on Monday released its line-up of senatorial candidates for next year's midterm elections.

The list includes the following:

  • Former Senator and Department of Interior and Local Government Secretary Mar Roxas
  • Incumbent Senator Bam Aquino
  • Former Solicitor General Florin Hilbay
  • Magdalo partylist Representative Gary Alejano
  • De La Salle University Law Dean Chel Diokno
  • Former Bangsamoro Transition Commission member Samira Gutoc
  • Former Deputy Speaker Erin Tañada
  • Election lawyer Romy Macalintal

Liberal Party President and Senator Francis "Kiko" Pangilinan and former Quezon Representative Erin Tanada also confirmed this to CNN Philippines.

Of the eight, only Macalintal has not filed his certificate of candidacy yet.

In a statement, the coalition said the slate was finalized following "a long process of evaluation and consultation" with its members Liberal Party, Akbayan, Magdalo, Aksyon Demokratiko, Tindig Pilipinas, and other groups.

It added that the groups had been in talks of possible senate slate "since early this year."