Valdez, Reyes headline 18-player women's national pool

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, May 19) — The Philippines is one step closer to finding out who will represent the country in upcoming international volleyball tournaments.

The training pools were revealed on Friday afternoon at Arellano University by head coaches of the respective teams.

According to LVPI officials, the teams were formed with the 2017 South East Asian (SEA) Games in Kuala Lumpur in mind.

In the case of the women's event, they will also compete in the AVC Asian Women's Volleyball Championship to be held in Manila this August, before competing in the SEA Games.

Women's national team head coach Francis Vicente revealed his lineup:

  • Dawn Macandili
  • Aby Maraño
  • Kim Fajardo
  • Lourdes Clemente
  • Denden Lazaro
  • Gen Casugod
  • Maika Ortiz
  • Mika Reyes
  • Jaja Santiago
  • Aiza Maizo-Pontillas
  • Jovelyn Gonzaga
  • Frances Molina
  • Kath Arado
  • Rachel Anne Daquis
  • Ria Meneses
  • Rhea Dimaculangan
  • Roselle Baliton
  • Alyssa Valdez

The men's national team pool was also revealed, and the coaching staff is optimistic about the team's prospect for suceess.

According to men's national team coach Sammy Acaylar, the team has a strong chance for a podium finish in the SEA Games.

Here is the complete lineup:

  • Relan Taneo
  • Geuel Asia
  • Bryan Bagunas
  • Ranran Abdilla
  • Dave Cabaron
  • Mark Alfafara
  • Reyson Fuentes
  • Jeff Malabanan
  • Bonjomar Castel
  • Herschel Ramos
  • Johnvic De Guzman
  • Jack Kalingking
  • Louwie Chavez
  • Edward Camposano
  • Greg Dolor
  • Peter Quiel
  • John Sarsena
  • John Carascal