MMFF announces complete lineup for 2017

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, November 17) — The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) on Friday announced the complete list of entries for its 2017 competition.

Hosted by Muntinlupa City, the MMFF will start on December 23, with the awards night on December 27.

Comedian Vice Ganda returns to the festival through "Gandarrapiddo! The Revenger Squad," under Star Cinema and Viva Films. The "It's Showtime" host will be starring with actor Daniel Padilla and Miss Universe 2015 Pia Wurtzbach.

Meanwhile, Vic Sotto makes his comeback with the film "Meant to Beh," directed by Antonio Reyes. Sotto stars opposite seasoned actress Dawn Zulueta, with the film produced by Octo Arts Films.

Actor and model Coco Martin also makes an entry with a remake of the classic film, "Ang Panday."

In the film, Martin will once again portray a character originated by Filipino icon Fernando Poe, Jr., following his stint in the television show "Ang Probinsyano."

Actors Jennylyn Mercado and Derek Ramsay reunite in "All of You," produced by Quantum Films.

MMFF earlier revealed the selection committee based the first four entries on the scripts they submitted.

MMFF Executive Committee Chairman Tim Orbos said the Rules Committee applied a new vetting scheme for this year's festival to assure that there is no discrimination among commercial and independent film entries.

Carlos Palanca Award-winning film "Deadma Walking" starring Joross Gamboa and Edgar Allan Guzman also made the list.

TEN17P-produced film "Siargao," which showcases the wonders of the island, features Jericho Rosales and Erich Gonzales.

Horror movie "Haunted Forest," top billed by Joey Marquez, Maris Racal, and Hashtags members Jon Lucas and Jameson Blake, aims to scare the audience amid the holiday season.

Completing the list is the musical "Ang Larawan," which is based on a play by National Artist for Literature Nick Joaquin. The movie features veteran theater actors Rachel Alejandro and Celeste Legaspi.

The short film category will feature:

"Anino" - Chrox Productions

"Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante?" - EMJEI Films and Photographs

"Black Market" - Lakan Media Creatives

"Crab Mental" - Joaquin Bamba

"Gunita" - Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila Padawan Productions

"Isang Gabi/One Night" - Lakan Media Creatives

"Kinalimutan Natin ang mga Bata" - University of the Philippines Film Institute

"Noel" - Go Motion Productions