Villar still richest senator, Trillanes still poorest

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

With total assets of P1.98 billion and zero liability, Senator Cynthia Villar has remained the richest member of the Philippine Senate while Senator Antonio Trillanes IV is still the poorest senator.

(CNN Philippines) – As expected, billionaire Senator Cynthia Villar still topped the list of richest Senate members while Senator Antonio Trillanes IV remained the poorest based on their 2014 statement of assets, liabilities, and net worth (SALN).

With total assets of P1.98 billion and zero liability, Villar easily bested her fellow senators with Senator Ralph Recto a far second with P522 million net worth, followed by Senator Ferdinand ‘Bongbong’ Marcos with P200.6 million.

Rounding up the top six are detained Senators Jinggoy Estrada, Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla, and Juan Ponce Enrile with net worth of P192.1 million, P181.9 million, and P121.1 million, respectively.

The three senators are facing plunder charges over the alleged pocketing of their priority development assistance fund (PDAF).

Trillanes, meanwhile, remains the ‘poorest’ senator with a net worth of only P5.5 million.

Senator Francis ‘Chiz’ Escudero is the second poorest senator with P6.049 million, P2.2 million down from his 2013 SALN of P8.24 million.

Below is the list of the senators’ net worth based on their 2014 SALNs:

1. Cynthia Villar – P1.983B (P1.626B in 2013)

2. Ralph Recto – P522M (P496.85M in 2013)

3. Ferdinand ‘Bongbong’ Marcos Jr. – P200.6M (P197.47M in 2013)

4. Jinggoy Estrada – P192.1M (P195M in 2013)

5. Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr. – P181.9M (P249.35M in 2013)

6. Juan Ponce Enrile – P121.1M (P119.37M in 2013)

7. Teofisto Guingona III – P113.4M (P114.9M in 2013)

8. Sergio Osmena III – P100.7M (P38.77M in 2013)

9. Juan Edgardo Angara – P100.4M (P97.825M in 2013)

10. Grace Poe – P89.5M (P148.9M in 2013)

11. Joseph Victor Ejercito – P75.5M (P73.99M in 2013)

12. Pia Cayetano – P73.4M (P73.29M in 2013)

13. Franklin Drilon – P73.1M (P58.13M in 2013)

14. Miriam Defensor Santiago – P73M (P76.74M in 2013)

15. Vicente Sotto III – P64.3M (P63.85M in 2013)

16. Nancy Binay – P62.6M (P63.77M in 2013)

17. Loren Legarda – P39.7M (P41.42M in 2013)

18. Manuel Lapid – P33.8M (P30M in 2013)

19. Paolo Benigno Aquino IV – P24.5M (P20.49M in 2013)

20. Alan Peter Cayetano – P23.3M (P21.7M in 2013)

21. Gregorio Honasan II – P21.2M (P20.95M in 2013)

22. Aquilino Pimentel III – P18M (P16.99M in 2013)

23. Francis Escudero – P6M (P8.24M in 2013)

24. Antonio Trillanes IV – P5.5M (P4.91M in 2013)

According to the Senate website, a senator receives P35,000 per month while the Senate President receives P40,000.