Duterte signs law extending driver's license validity to 5 years

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 2) — President Rodrigo Duterte on Wednesday signed the law extending the validity of the driver's license from three years to five years.

Republic Act (RA) No. 10930 effectively amends Section 23 of Republic Act No. 4136, otherwise known as the "Land Transportation (LTO) and Traffic Code."

"Except for student permits, all drivers' licenses shall be valid for five years reckoned from the birthdate of the licensee, unless sooner revoked or suspended," the law states.

It added holders of professional and nonprofessional driver's licenses who do not commit violations in RA 4136 or any other traffic laws during the five-year period "shall be entitled to a renewal of such license of ten years, subject to the restrictions as may be imposed by the LTO."

The law also orders the LTO to impose stricter rules for the license issuance.

"The conduct of theoretical and practical examinations, among others, must sufficiently measure the competency of drivers and must be designed to the type of license applied for and its corresponding restrictions," it said.

Officers found guilty of issuing licenses to unqualified applicants will be removed from the service and fined P20,000.

As stated by law, the license of the "erring applicant" will be revoked. He/she will also be banned from applying for a license for a period of two years.

Repeat offenders will face "perpetual disqualification" from being granted a driver's license.

Drivers who will be involved in incidents leading to death or physical injuries resulting in the loss of any part of the victim's body will have their license revoked for four years.

The law is a consolidation of Senate Bill no. 1449 and House Bill No. 5648 passed by the Senate and House of Representatives on May 31.

READ: Duterte signs law extending passport validity to 10 years

Duterte also signed on Wednesday the law extending passport validity to ten years and the law establishing free internet access in public places nationwide.