Confusion at the House: Who is the new minority?

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, July 25) — Former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo's rise as House Speaker has sown confusion about the new structure of the lower chamber of Congress.

According to House Rules, the majority is composed of "members who vote for the winning candidate for Speaker." After the power struggle among administration allies on Monday, who is the new and true minority?

The Pampanga representative unseated her predecessor Pantaleon Alvarez after more than 200 lawmakers voted for a change in leadership. Davao Mayor and presidential daughter Sara Duterte-Carpio was reported to have had a hand in the ouster.

A total of 184 congressmen voted for Arroyo, including Quezon Rep. Danilo Suarez, who was Minority Leader under Alvarez. A few from the majority stood by the former speaker. A handful of congressmen did not support either.

RELATED: Lawmakers: No elections, zero budget threats, row with Sara Duterte-Carpio prompted Alvarez ouster

After the ouster, how will the composition of the two blocs -- and their leadership -- change?

The majority bloc is set to select a new leader on Wednesday, while the minority will choose its own. While some predict Camarines Sur Rep. Nonoy Andaya will lead the majority, the fate of the minority bloc is still up in the air.

Here are the names being floated for minority leadership.

Pantaleon Alvarez

Justice Committee Chair Rey Umali, who stands by Alvarez, previously said the former House Speaker was looking forward to being the leader of the minority.

However, Caloocan Representative Egay Erice pointed out that his shared party with Arroyo would lead to a "highly anomalous situation."

He urged Arroyo to prevent this from happening, and to protect the "real minority."

"Where in the world can you find a parliament where the majority leader and the minority leader belong to the same political party?" said Erice. "It's a mockery of the legislative process which is supposed to guarantee check and balance."

Rudy Farinas

Umali later told CNN Philippines' The Source that he thought Alvarez would "give way," and Majority Leader Rudy Fariñas was likely to step up.

"Within the group, if there is anyone it could be Majority Leader Fariñas," he said.

Suarez also said that Farinas would seek the minority leadership from Arroyo, although he doubted her allies would agree.

Fariñas on Wednesday questioned the validity of Arroyo's election.

Miro Quimbo

Critics of the administration maintain that they are the true minority at the House of Representatives.

The militant Makabayan bloc, announced earlier on Wednesday that it was in talks to team up with its enemy-turned-ally, the Liberal Party, which has 24 members in the House. Makabayan has seven members.

On Wednesday, 12 opposition lawmakers from the Liberal Party selected former Deputy Speaker Miro Quimbo as their leader.

READ: 'Duly-constituted minority' elects Quimbo as its House leader

Quimbo said they have yet to organize the minority bloc so they can start screening and accepting new members, such as those who were not present during the opening of the House Session.

Danilo Suarez

As Minority Leader under Alvarez, Suarez supported Arroyo for the speakership. However, he is still thinking of sticking around in his position.

Quimbo dismissed the idea as "ridiculous."

"The rules are very clear: Kapag bumoto ka sa nanalong speaker, majority ka. Hindi sila pwedeng minority kung bumoto ka para sa nanalo," said Quimbo. "Hindi lang sila bumoto, kung hindi nangampanya."

[Translation: The rules are very clear: When you vote for a winning speaker, you're in the majority. They can't be in the minority if you choose for someone who wins... They didn't even just vote, they campaigned (for Arroyo).]

AKO BICOL Partylist Rep. Alfredo Garbin, a member of the minority who voted for Arroyo, said he has yet to receive a directive on whether on not they would move to the majority.

"Danny Suarez should be given the benefit of the doubt," said Garbin.

"People will have doubts, but I think we should be judged by our legislative output -- by our active participation in deliberations in Congress," he added of Suarez's plan to remain Minority Leader. "Yun sana ang pagbasehan, hindi yung previous relationships and friendships."

In 2009, when Arroyo was criticized for a lavish dinner at Washington D.C. during her term as President, Suarez claimed he footed the $15,000 bill.

CNN Philippines correspondents Joyce Ilas, Xianne Arcangel, and senior digital producer Lara Tan contributed to this report.