#WalangPasok: February 6 a nonworking day in some areas for Bangsamoro polls

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, January 23) — President Rodrigo Duterte has declared February 6 a special nonworking day in some areas in Mindanao so voters can participate in the plebiscite on the Bangsamoro law.

Malacañang released on Wednesday a copy of Duterte's Proclamation 656, suspending work on February 6 in the province of Lanao del Norte (except Iligan City), and the following municipalities in North Cotabato: Aleosan, Carmen, Kabacan, Midsayap, Pikit, Pigkawayan, and Tulunan.

This will allow voters to decide on whether or not they want to be part of the new Bangsamoro autonomous region which will replace the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM). This is in line with the Bangsamoro Organic Law signed by the President in July 2018.

About 1.7 million voters from five ARMM provinces, Cotabato City, and Isabela City in Basilan took part in the first Bangsamoro referendum last January 21. Canvassing of votes is set for Thursday.

READ: Comelec reschedules Bangsamoro vote canvassing anew