63 North Cotabato villages complete new Bangsamoro region

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, February 14) — It's official: the list of areas which will make up the new Bangsamoro autonomous region is now set.

Nearly all barangays (villages) in North Cotabato which took part in the February 6 plebiscite will join the new Bangsamoro autonomous region, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) confirmed Thursday.

In total, 63 out of the total 67 villages will form part of the new region.

Based on the final, official tally from the Comelec en banc sitting as the National Plebiscite Board of Canvassers, all barangays from the towns of Carmen, Kabacan, Midsayap, and Pigkawayan got double majority "yes" votes.

Two villages in Aleosan and 22 villages in Pikit will also be included in the new Bangsamoro.

However, Barangay Galidan-- the only village which petitioned for inclusion in Tulunan town-- failed to get enough "yes" votes.

The villages will form part of the soon-to-be-established Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM), which will comprise the provinces in the current Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (except Isabela City, Basilan) as well as Cotabato City.

READ: Comelec announces ratification of Bangsamoro law

In its final canvass, Comelec also confirmed that the six Lanao del Norte towns which also participated in the second plebiscite failed to get double majority of "yes" votes needed for them to break away and join the new entity.

President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to appoint members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority, which will include incumbent officials of the regional government.

CNN Philippines Correspondent Triciah Terada contributed to this report.