LOOK: Sports legends carry SEA Games Federation flag

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, November 30) — Eight Filipino world champions in various sports took the lead in the ceremonial carrying of the Southeast Asian (SEA) Games Federation flag.

Sports icons Lydia de Vega Mercado, hailed as Asia's Fastest Woman for 8 years; Akiko Thompson-Guevarra, 7-time SEA games gold medalist; 15-time SEA Games gold medalist for swimming Eric Buhain; and Alvin Patrimonio, SEA Games gold medalist for basketball, took the centerstage during the flagbearing ceremony.

They were joined by fellow legends Efren "Bata" Reyes, four-time Eight Ball World Champion; Mansueto "Onyok" Velasco, two-time SEA Games gold medalist for boxing and Olympic silver medalist; Bong Coo, four-time Ten-Pin Bowling World Champion; and Rafael "Paeng" Nepomuceno, six-time bowling world champion.

The SEA Games Federation flag will be passed on to Vietnam, who will host the 31st SEA Games, in 2021.