Philippine Airlines continues to fly to four countries covered by gov’t travel restrictions

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, December 30) – Philippine Airlines will continue to fly to four of the 20 countries covered in the government’s expanded travel ban list due to the new COVID-19 variant from the United Kingdom.

PAL spokesperson Cielo Villaluna clarified that the national flag carrier will accept only Filipino nationals on their flights from Canada, Singapore, Japan, and Hong Kong until Jan. 15, 2021.

Villaluna told CNN Philippines’ Rico Hizon on Wednesday they will not fly to the Philippines foreign nationals who originate from any of the 20 countries in the travel restrictions list.

“Foreign nationals who have history of travel in any of the 20 countries and in-transit travel as well, within the period of 14 days prior to their supposed arrival in the Philippines, we will not accept them,” Villaluna explained.

Foreign nationals from any of the 20 countries who entered the Philippines before Dec. 30 (the effectivity of the passenger ban), but have successfully completed the 14-day quarantine requirement will be carried on flights out of the Philippines.

Villaluna also clarified that PAL will fly foreign nationals who will travel from Manila to the four countries, as long as they have undergone the required 14-day quarantine prior to their flight.

She also disclosed that the government assigned two hotels in Tagaytay that will serve as quarantine facilities for arriving Filipino passengers, who will undergo the mandatory two-week quarantine there. The government will shoulder the cost of hotel accommodation.

Villaluna said arriving Filipino nationals who prefer a different quarantine facility will need to contact the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration airport desk for the arrangement, which will be shouldered by the passenger.

The Philippine government implemented a travel ban on 20 countries including a territory that all recorded cases of the new COVID-19 variant that is said to be more contagious than the current coronavirus. These are United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, the Netherlands, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, Spain, and Hong Kong (SAR).

The travel restrictions are in place from Dec. 30, 2020 until Jan. 15, 2021.