EDSA busway passengers must pay fares via beep cards starting Oct. 1

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10


Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, September 29) — The Department of Transportation is set to enforce this week a cashless fare collection scheme on public utility buses, which ply the EDSA busway route.

“Starting Thursday, 01 October 2020, the ‘NO BEEP CARD, NO RIDE’ policy will be implemented for passengers of the EDSA Busway System,” the DOTr said in a statement on Monday.

A beep™ card is a stored value contactless card that can be used to pay fares in LRT-1, LRT-2, and MRT-3, and some point-to-point buses, as well as public utility vehicles. Fare is deducted from the card once it is tapped at a fare collection machine.

Passengers can purchase beep cards in LRT and MRT-3 stations for P30. They can also be bought in all Metro Manila branches of FamilyMart as well as in bus terminals HM Transport in Alabang Town Center and Market! Market!; BGC Bus in EDSA, Market! Market!, and Bonifacio One Technology Tower; RRCG in Alabang Town Center, Greenbelt 1, Greenbelt 5, Star Mall Alabang, and Starmall Shaw.

The beep™ card is valid for four years. Commuters can reload their beep cards in LRT and MRT-3 stations, FamilyMart and Ministop branches, outlets of Bayad Center and their affiliates, or via Over-the-Air or OTA loading partners such as BPI, Eon by Unibank, Akulaku, and Justpayto.

The move is seen to minimize physical contact between commuters and public transport personnel to reduce their risk of getting coronavirus disease.

“The move will also pave the way for more seamless and faster transactions, as it will improve waiting time and trim down queuing of passengers,” the agency added.

The EDSA busway, which became operational on July 1, covers bus stops along the middle lanes of EDSA. It runs from Monumento, Caloocan to the PITX or Parañaque Integrated Terminal Exchange.