Bulacan, Apayao, Capiz under GCQ starting Oct. 18 — Palace

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, October 17) — The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has approved a recommendation to place the provinces of Bulacan, Apayao, and Capiz under a more relaxed general community quarantine (GCQ) from Oct. 18 to Oct. 31, Malacañang announced Sunday.

Bulacan and Apayo were initially placed under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), while Capiz was originally placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions.

The national government is currently testing the alert level scheme in Metro Manila. In the rest of the country, the community quarantine scheme is still being implemented, with the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) being the strictest.

In areas under GCQ, all establishments or activities that were not allowed during ECQ can operate between 50% to 100% on-site capacity as may be determined by the Department of Trade and Industry, according to the updated IATF resolution as of Sept. 23, 2021.

The IATF added that local government units may lower on-site capacities to a minimum of 50% depending on the COVID-19 situation in their jurisdiction.

Meanwhile, limited face-to-face classes for higher education and technical vocational education in GCQ areas may be allowed subject to government guidelines.

The following quarantine classifications for other areas are also in effect until Oct. 31:

MECQ: Kalinga, Batanes, Bataan, Cavite, Rizal, Laguna, Naga City, Zamboanga City and Zamboanga del Norte.

GCQ with heightened restrictions: Abra, Baguio City, Ilocos Sur, Pangasinan, Cagayan, Isabela, City of Santiago, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Quezon, Batangas, Bacolod City, Lapu-Lapu City, Negros Oriental, Bohol, Zamboanga del Sur, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, Davao del Norte, Davao Occidental, Davao de Oro, Butuan City, and Surigao del Sur.

GCQ: Ilocos Norte, Dagupan City, Ifugao, Benguet, Tarlac, Lucena City, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa, Marinduque, Albay, Camarines Norte, Aklan, Antique, Guimaras, Negros Occidental, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, Cebu City, Cebu Province, Mandaue City, Siquijor, Tacloban City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Misamis Occidental, Iligan City, Davao City, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Dinagat Islands, Cotabato City, and Lanao del Sur.

The rest of the country will be under modified GCQ.