PH extends travel ban on India, 6 other countries until June 30

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, June 14) – The Philippine government announced on Monday the extension of the ban on travelers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates until June 30.

This is the third time the Philippine government imposed travel restrictions to the seven countries.

In a series of announcements from late April to mid-May, the country barred the entry of travelers from the seven nations to prevent the spread of the B.1617 "double mutant" variant of the coronavirus first discovered in India (called Delta in the new WHO system).

Despite the directive, the Philippines on May 11 confirmed its first two cases of the B.1617 variant -- both returning overseas Filipinos who had no travel history from India. Since then, the country has detected a total of 13 people infected with the same variant.

The Department of Health also recorded at least 1,071 cases of the B.1.1.7 variant from the United Kingdom (Alpha) and 1,246 cases of the B.1.351 variant from South Africa (Beta). These are seen to have contributed to the spikes in infections in some areas.