DOH: Delta is present in all 17 NCR cities, municipality

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 6) — The highly contagious Delta coronavirus variant has been detected in all 17 cities and municipality in Metro Manila, the Department of Health said Friday.

Metro Manila shifted to the strictest enhanced community quarantine for the third time since the pandemic started due to a spike in case counts.

"We detected Delta on all 17 cities and municipality in NCR," the DOH told reporters in a Viber message.

Delta, which spreads the fastest among all variants of concern, has been detected in nine of the 17 regions in the country, Health Undersecretary Maria Rosario Vergeire said in an online briefing. This variant also appears to make people sicker, according to experts.

The country logged 116 more Delta cases on Thursday, bringing the total to 331.

Of the 116 new infections, 95 are local cases -- one in Ilocos Region, one in Cagayan Valley, three in Calabarzon, 83 in National Capital Region, four in Central Visayas, one in Zamboanga Peninsula, and two in Davao Region, Vergeire said.

Twelve of the total Delta cases are currently ill, while nine died.

Of the active cases, 11 are asymptomatic while one has mild symptoms, Vergeire said.

Vergeire said of those currently ill -- four are in Metro Manila, six in Central Luzon, one in Calabarzon, and one in Western Visayas.