Makabayan bloc bares party-list nominees for 2022 elections

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, September 26) – The parties under the Makabayan bloc, known for its progressive positions on national issues in the House of Representatives, have named their respective party-list nominees for the 2022 elections.

In an announcement on Saturday, Bayan Muna listed its former representative Teddy Casiño as the group's first nominee while incumbent Rep. Ferdinand Gaite and Amirah Lidasan are the second and third nominees, respectively. 

Casiño served as the Bayan Muna representative in the House from 2004 to 2013.

Human rights lawyer Krissy Conti was also named as Bayan Muna's fourth nominee while Pepito Pico, John Ruiz, and Roman Polintan are the fifth, sixth, and seventh nominees, respectively.

Current Bayan Muna Rep. Carlos Zarate will reach the term-limit for his position, completing his third three-year term next year, while Rep. Eufemia Cullamat will not seek for a second term.

Former Bayan Muna Rep. Neri Colmenares recently announced he will run for senator for the third time, after failing in his bid for the same post in the 2016 and 2019 elections. 

Meanwhile, Gabriela Women's Party Rep. Arlene Brosas will vie for her last term as she was picked to be the coalition's first nominee.

Human rights defender Dr. Jean Lindo and consumer rights advocate Lucy Francisco were selected as the second and third nominees, respectively, of the Gabriela Women's Party.

On the other hand, Anakpawis national chairperson Rafael Mariano will attempt to return to the Congress after the party nominated him as their first nominee for the 2022 polls. 

Mariano, who was the first Agrarian Reform Secretary of the Duterte administration, was Anakpawis representative from 2004 to 2013.

Anakpawis, which does not have a representative in the present 18th Congress, fielded Kilusang Mayo Uno external and internal political affairs head Lana Libanan and Francisco Mariazeta Jr. as their second and third nominee.

Also, the ACT Teachers party-list picked incumbent Rep. France Castro as their first nominee.

Antonio Tinio, the group's representative from 2010 to 2019, was chosen as the party-list's second nominee while renowned poet and essayist Dr. David Michael San Juan is the third nominee. SPED teacher Helene Dimaukom and Fabian Hallig are the fourth and fifth nominees, respectively, of ACT Teachers.

Lastly, the Kabataan Party-list selected former National Union of Students of the Philippines president Raoul Manuel as their first nominee. 

Manuel, the first summa cum laude graduate of University of the Philippines Visayas and eventually became the UP Student Regent, is known as the student leader who engaged Sen. Ronald dela Rosa in a heated debate during a Senate hearing in August 2019 on mandatory military training in schools.

The youth group also picked Angelica Galimba as second nominee, Jandeil Roperos as third nominee, Jianred Faustino as fourth nominee, Jayvie Cabajes as fifth nominee, Vince Alloso as sixth nominee, and RJ Ledesma as seventh nominee.

Incumbent Kabataan Party-list Rep. Sarah Elago will not seek a third term.