Dengue outbreak declared in 9 towns in Cordillera

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Baguio City (CNN Philippines) — Nine towns in Apayao, Abra and Mt. Province in the Cordillera region have declared a dengue outbreak as cases continue to rise in the past weeks, according to Department of Health (DOH) Cordillera entomologist and dengue program coordinator Ursula Segundo.

This week the towns of Luna, Flora and Sta. Marcela in Apayao province have declared a dengue outbreak as cases of the mosquito-borne disease have risen.

Last month, six towns have declared dengue outbreaks in Tadian and Paracelis municipalities in Mountain Province, while dengue outbreak were also declared in the towns of  Luba, Villaviciosa, San Isidro and Pidigan in the province of Abra.

Segundo said the dengue cases have been controlled in the six towns with their continued vector surveillance and intervention activities.

According to Segundo, a dengue outbreak is declared only when cases go beyond the epidemic threshold, which means these towns already posted cases higher than its previous case records in the past five years or since 2010.

The latest data from the DOH Regional Epidemiology and Surveillance Unit showed that from January 1 to September 14, some 4,525 dengue cases have been recorded compared to only 1,611 cases recorded over the same period last year or a 181 percent increase in dengue cases in the Cordillera region.