Compostela Valley officially renamed to Davao de Oro

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

(CNN Philippines, December 9) — Compostela Valley has been renamed to Davao de Oro.

Residents of the formerly known Compostela Valley province officially voted  favoring the changing of its provincial name to Davao de Oro after the vote on Saturday, December 7.

Out of the 411,442 registered voters of the province, 179,953 voted; 174,442 residents voted in favor of the name change, or 97% of the total canvassed votes. A mere 5,020, or three percent, voted against it.

The official result was announced at 9:45 PM, Sunday.

Davao de Oro, formerly known as Compostela Valley Province, is part of Davao Region. 

Davao de Oro used to be part of Davao del Norte until it was made independent in 1998, after a vote in favor of the creation of a new province in Davao Region.

The province is composed of 11 municipalities and 237 barangays.

Based on the Philippine Law, a plebiscite is conducted to vote if the residents are in favor or not of changing the name of the province or city or municipality; creation of a new city or municipality or province; and the like.