Etheridge headlines Azkals squad in World Cup qualifier vs. China

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, October 9) — A familiar face is adding star power to the Philippine Azkals for an upcoming fixture.

The Philippine Football Federation (PFF) bared on Wednesday the 23-man squad list of the Azkals in their qualifying match against China on October 15 at the Panaad Park and Stadium in Bacolod City.

Cardiff City goalkeeper Neil Etheridge will make his comeback to the national men's football team in the second round of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

Etheridge missed the first two games of the Philippines against Syria and Guam, since he was still recovering from injury.

He last suited up for the Azkals in March 2018, when they defeated Tajikistan to make their first appearance in the Asian Cup.

Azkals veteran Luke Woodland is also suiting up to boost their defensive line. Two newcomers in Edison Suerti and Niko de Vera also look to bolster the national squad. Suerti is currently with Norweigan club Brattvag IL, while de Vera is part of American club Portland Timbers.

The Azkals have also called up Justin Baas and Yrick Gallantes, who made their debut for the Azkals in their 4-1 victory against Guam last month.

Here is the complete squad list:


Neil Etheridge

Michael Falkesgaard

Kevin Hansen


Amani Aguinaldo

Justin Baas

Carlie De Murga

Niko de Vera

Daisuke Sato

Alvaro Silva

Martin Steuble

Edison Suerti

Luke Woodland


Yrick Gallantes

Angel Guirado

Kevin Ingreso

Mike Ott

Iain Ramsay

Stephan Schrock

John Patrick Strauss


Jovin Bedic

Mark Hartmann

Jose Elmer "OJ" Porteria

Patrick Reichelt

The Azkals are at third place with a 1-1 win-loss record in Group A of the qualifiers.