A number of POC board members resign

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, June 25) — A number of Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) board members resigned on Tuesday, POC officials said.

In an extraordinary general assembly at the GSIS Building in Pasay City, four POC board members have verbally expressed their decision to step down due to unresolved internal conflicts.

They are first vice president Joey Romasanta, chairman Bambol Tolentino, board member Clint Aranas, and auditor Jonne Go.

"This is something that I felt should be done a long long time ago. We need new faces, new ideas in the POC. We cannot go on like this forever, we had a very divided Philippine Olympic committee and I hope the next generation and the new set officers will be able to address this and change the image of the POC," Romasanta said.

A special election will be held on July 5 for the vacated positions.

This development comes at a critical phase as the country prepares to host the Southeast Asian Games in November.

Last week, Ricky Vargas also resigned as POC president.

CNN Philippines Correspondent Pauline Verzosa contributed to this report.