PBA: Alaska secures last playoff spot with overtime win over Meralco

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, July 19) — The 2019 PBA Commissioner's Cup quarterfinals cast is now set.

The Alaska Aces earned the last playoff berth after outlasting the Meralco Bolts, 108-103, in overtime Friday at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

Vic Manuel muscled his way in the paint to lead the Aces with 23 points and four rebounds, while import Diamon Simpson added 20 points and 23 rebounds.

With their backs against the wall, Chris Banchero scored five straight points for Alaska at the dying seconds to send the game into extra period.

A putback by Jeron Teng and a couple of free throws from JVee Casio and Banchero sealed the win for the Aces.

Delroy James finished with 34 markers and seven boards for the Bolts.

Alaska will face number one team TNT KaTropa with a twice-to-beat disadvantage. Their matchup is scheduled on July 21 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

The scores:

Alaska (108) - Manuel 23, Simpson 20, Banchero 15, Casio 14, Enciso 13, Teng 12, Thoss 5, Racal 2, Pascual 2, Baclao 2.

Meralco (103) - James 34, Newsome 20, Almazan 14, Amer 8, Quinto 7, Pinto 6, Hodge 4, Faundo 4, De Ocampo 3, Jackson 3, Salva 0.

Quarterscores: 26-28, 55-43, 68-66, 96-96, 108-103.