4 young swimmers shine in PH natl team selection meet

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, October 25) – Four promising swimmers stood out during the three-day 2021 Philippine Swimming Inc. National Selection bubble held over the weekend at the New Clark City Aquatics Center in Capas, Tarlac.

Ayala Harpoons Swim Club standouts Thanya Dela Cruz and Miguel Barreto delivered the most impressive performances among the young Filipino swimmers after bagging four golds each in the national team selection meet.

Dela Cruz made big waves on the first day of the meet on Oct. 22 after breaking the Philippine women's 50-meter breaststroke record with a time of 32. 89 seconds.

RELATED: Marikina-based swimmer resets PH women's 50m breaststroke mark 

The 18-year-old swimmer from Marikina City asserted her dominance in other women's breaststroke events after topping the 100-meter and 200-meter swims.

She also clinched the gold in the women's 50-meter freestyle category.

Dela Cruz almost shattered the women's 100-meter breaststroke national record last Oct. 23 after clocking in one minute and 11.28 seconds, just 0.36 seconds shy of the one minute and 10.92 seconds recorded by Texas-based national team member Desirae Mangaoang in the Fran Crippen Swim Meet of Champions last June.

Fellow Harpoon Barreto dominated most of the men's freestyle events after claiming top honors in the 100-meter, 200-meter, 400-meter, and 800-meter categories.

The 18-year-old Barreto could have won his fifth gold medal in the national team selection meet, but he got disqualified in the men's 400-meter individual medley category.

Barreto, who competed in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games, capped off his four gold-medal romp on Sunday by besting national teammate Sacho Ilustre in the men's 100-meter freestyle event with just 0.07 seconds. Barreto finished with 53.52 seconds, while Ilustre had 53.59.

Meanwhile, Xiandi Chua and John Neil Paderes harvested three gold medals each to gain their own share of the spotlight with Dela Cruz and Barreto.

The 20-year-old Chua from the All-Star Swim Club swept all her events in the women's 200-meter individual medley, 200-meter freestyle, and 100-meter freestyle categories.

The De La Salle University standout was the only swimmer who clocked in below the one-minute mark in the exciting women's 100-meter freestyle event on Sunday, clocking in at 59.68 seconds.

"My times in this meet weren't really good because my times went up," Chua said. "But I think it's a nice opportunity to race again because I was able to see where I'm actually at and how I can I improve on it in training."

Paderes also completed a treble after ruling all men's backstroke events.

The 19-year-old swimmer from BEST Main took the men's 50-meter event in 27.77 seconds. He previously topped the 100-meter category with one minute and 1.22 seconds and 200-meter swim with two minutes and 14.94 seconds.

A total of 71 swimmers vied for a spot in the national team selection bubble meet.

Tankers chosen will be included in the national team training pool competing in upcoming international meets like the 2021 FINA World Swimming Championships (25 m) in Dubai, United Emirates, 2022 World Aquatics Championships in Fukuoka, Japan, and next year's Southeast Asian Games in Hanoi, Vietnam.

Here are the other winners in the three-day PSI national team selection tournament:

- Ted Laminta (Ace Seawolves): men's 200-meter and 400-meter individual medley

- Jordan Lobos (BEST Main): men's 100-meter and 200-meter breaststroke

- Michaela Mojdeh (BEST Main): women's 1500-meter freestyle and 400-meter individual medley

- Camille Buico (Rising Atlantis Swim Club): women's 50-meter and 100-meter butterfly

- Ryan Marco Tirol (Ayala Harpoons Swim Club): men's 50-meter breaststroke

- Shayne Lugay (Ace Seawolves): women's 50-meter and 100-meter backstroke

- Chloe Daos (QC Buccaneers): women's 400-meter freestyle and 200-meter butterfly

- Hannah Sanchez (All Star Swim Club): women's 800-meter and 1500-meter freestyle

- Sacho Ilustre (De La Salle Zobel): men's 100-meter butterfly

- Joshua del Rio (Ateneo Blue Knight Swim Club): men's 1500-meter freestyle

- Seb Wong (QC Buccaneers): men's 50-meter butterfly

- Ivan Radovan (BEST Main): men's 200-meter butterfly

- Gianna Garcia: women's 200-meter backstroke