16 Subic tryouts attendees named to PH women's volleyball team pool

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, May 12) — The 16 players who showed up in the tryouts held in Subic last month have been named to the national women's volleyball team pool, the Philippine National Volleyball Federation announced on Wednesday.

“In selecting the members of the pool, we put into strong consideration the athletes’ skills and potentials to improve, and as importantly, their dedication to flag and country, and their visibly inate qualities,” PNVF President Tats Suzara said in a statement.

Jaja Santiago headlined the pool together with mainstays Aby Maraño, Majoy Baron, and Mylene Paat, and Eya Laure. They were all part of the national squad who competed in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games which the country hosted.

Filipino-American setter Iris Tolenada, Dell Palomata, and Ria Meneses also made the cut. They will be joined by collegiate standouts Faith Nisperos, Kamille Cal, Ivy Lacsina, Mhicaela Belen, Alyssa Solomon, Imee Hernandez, liberos Jennifer Nierva and Bernadette Pepito.

The women's national team pool will begin training in June for the Asian Seniors Women Volleyball Championship that the country is hoping to host in August, and the 2021 SEA Games set for November 21 to December 2 in Hanoi, Vietnam.

In the men’s pool, 13 members from the team that clinched the silver medal behind Thailand in the 2019 SEA Games were called up for another tour of duty.

Here's the complete list of the indoor and beach volleyball team pool:

Women's indoor


1. Iris Tolenada (Unattached)

2. Kamille Cal (NU)

Outside Hitters

3. Faith Nisperos (Ateneo)

4. Ivy Lacsina (NU)

5. Mhicaela Belen (NU)


6. Mylene Paat (Chery Tiggo) *

7. Eya Laure (Chery Tiggo) *

8. Alyssa Solomon (NU)

Middle Blockers

9. Aby Maraño (F2 Logistics) *

10. Majoy Baron (F2 Logistics) *

11. Jaja Santiago (Chery Tiggo)

12. Dell Palomata (Air Force/Sta. Lucia)

13. Ria Meneses (PetroGazz)

14. Imee Hernandez (UST)


15. Jennifer Nierva (NU)

16. Bernadette Pepito (UST)

Men's indoor


1. Jessie Lopez (Air Force) *

2. Kim Dayadante (Go for Gold)

3. Ish Polvorosa (Unattached) *

4. Josh Retamar (NU/Sta. Elena) *

Outside Hitters

5. Mark Alfafara (PLDT) *

6. Marck Espejo (Cignal) *

7. Bryan Bagunas (Go for Gold) *

8. Jao Umandal (PLDT) *

9. Nico Almendras (NU/Sta. Elena)


10. John Vic de Guzman (PLDT) *

11. Ysay Marasigan (Cignal)

12. Joeven dela Vega (Navy)

Middle Blockers

13. Rex Intal (Cignal) *

14. Kim Malabunga (Go for Gold) *

15. Francis Saura (Go for Gold) *

16. JP Bugaoan (Cignal)

17. Lloyd Josafat (UE/PLDT)


18. Jack Kalingking (Navy) *

19. Ricky Marcos (Go for Gold) *

20. Manuel Sumanguid (Cignal)

Women's beach volleyball

1. Sisi Rondina (Creamline) *

2. Bernadeth Pons (Creamline) *

3. Babylove Barbon (UST)

4. Gen Eslapor (UST)

5. Dzi Gervacio (Creamline) *

6. Dij Rodriguez (Creamline) *

7. Mer Jauculan (UST)

8. Jennifer Cosas (Abanse Negrense)

9. Alexa Polidario (Abanse Negrense)

10. Erjane Magdato (Abanse Negrense)

Men's beach volleyball

1. Anthony Arbasto (Creamline)

2. Jude Garcia (Creamline) *

3. Jaron Requinton (Creamline) *

4. James Buytrago (Creamline) *

5. Philip Bagalay (Creamline)

6. Ranran Abdilla (Air Force/Creamline) *

7. Jade Becaldo (Cebu)

8. Calvin Sarte (Davao)

9. James Pecaña (PLDT)

10. AJ Pareja (Creamline)

*retained from 2019 SEA Games team