UP team manager: Bo Perasol stays as Maroons head coach

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, June 18) – University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons head coach Bo Perasol is still with the Diliman-based squad, team manager Agaton Uvero clarified on Friday.

Uvero made the clarification after news of Perasol's supposed resignation surfaced.

"That's not how the UP system works as there are formal processes required to make such a decision," Uvero said. Status quo remains and coach Bo has neither resigned nor been removed, he added.

Renan Dalisay, chairman of alumni group Nowhere to go but UP, and UP College of Human Kinetics Dean Francis Diaz, also denied Perasol's supposed resignation.

"It's still status quo today and UP has not even allowed varsity teams to meet and practice," Dalisay said in his social media post

"UP has formal processes in selecting varsity coaches. Right now, coach Bo is still the UP MBT head coach and he has not resigned," Diaz added.

In his five-year stint as head coach, Perasol led the resurrection of the Fighting Maroons men's basketball program.

In 2018, he led UP to its first UAAP Final Four appearance in 21 years. The Maroons defeated the Adamson University Soaring Falcons in two do-or-die games to advance to their first UAAP Finals appearance since 1986. They were swept by neighbor Ateneo de Manila University in the championship round.

Perasol also brought the Fighting Maroons back to the Final Four in 2019, but they wasted their twice-to-beat advantage and lost to the University of Santo Tomas Growling Tigers in the stepladder semifinal round.

Amid the pandemic, Perasol has been helping the Maroons secure future talents, with the acquisition of former UST star CJ Cansino, former National University high school standouts Carl Tamayo and Gerry Abadiano, Xavier School ace Miguel Tan, Fil-Canadians Alonso Tan and Anton Eusebio, Fil-Australian center Ethan Kirkness, Fil-American guard Sam Dowd, and former Gilas Youth member RC Calimag.