8 franchise teams make it to new season of MPL PH

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, July 14) — The Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League (MPL) in the Philippines has announced its eight initial franchise teams that will compete in Season 8.

After seven seasons, MPL PH hopes that the transition to a franchise model will bring a brighter future to Esports development in the country.

Mobile Legends: Bang Bang is one of the most popular mobile multiplayer online battle arena games in the world with 100 million active monthly users and is among the top 10 most played in over 80 countries.

Reigning MPL PH champion Blacklist International headlines the cast that includes Bren Esports, Nexplay EVOS, Onic PH, Smart Omega, TNC Pro Team, RSG PH, and ECHO.

"We are now formally announcing the eight initial franchise teams that will be joining us. These are the teams that trusted us and believed in our plans," Matt Jaron, MPL Philippines Director of Business Development, said during a virtual press conference Wednesday.

Two changes will be implemented this season: all teams can have 10 players in their rosters from six players, and the removal of the qualifiers.

The start of the Season 8 regular season will be on August 13 and run until October 3. There will be two matches every Friday, three matches every Saturday, and two matches every Sunday. A total of 56 best of three matches, and the top six teams will advance to the playoffs. All regular season matches will be played under an online set-up, while the playoffs will take place in a bubble setting.

MPL PH Season 8 will have a prize pool of $150,000 or about ₱7.5 million.