PBA Finals: San Miguel evens series against TNT with Game 4 victory

enablePagination: false
maxItemsPerPage: 10
maxPaginationLinks: 10

Metro Manila (CNN Philippines, August 11) — Two TNT KaTropa players may have won the PBA Commissioner’s Cup top individual awards but the night ultimately belonged to the San Miguel Beermen.

The Beermen outplayed TNT in Game 4 to take the 106-101 victory and tie the series on Sunday at the Araneta Coliseum.

Chris McCullough had 27 points and 22 rebounds, while Alex Cabagnot and June Mar Fajardo chipped in 25 and 22 points respectively.

San Miguel shot better as they went 49% from the field, while TNT went 38-of-91 for a 41% shooting clip. The Beermen also controlled the rebounding department, 55-46. They also issued eleven more assists that the KaTropa, 26-15.

Terrence Jones, who was named Best Import, had a game-high 32 points and 16 boards for TNT. Best Player of the Conference Jayson Castro showcased his all-around game finishing with 17 points, eight rebounds and the same number of assists. But the two could not propel KaTropa to victory.

Game 5 of the series takes place Wednesday, August 14 at 7PM also at the Big Dome.

The scores:

San Miguel 106 - McCullough 27, Cabagnot 25, Fajardo 22, Pessumal 14, Ross 7, Standhardinger 5, Romeo 4, Santos 2.

TNT 101 - Jones 32, Rosario 24, Castro 17, Trollano 16, Pogoy 9, Heruela 3, Casino 0, Magat 0, Carey 0. Quarterscores: 31-22, 51-52, 82-69, 106-101.